• Vesuvius the Violent Volcano
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Interests:SLEEPING

Posted 2011-July-08, 17:11

Playing with an expert partner in Bracket 1 of a Sectional KO, I held:

IMPs, See alerts for the explanations.

1. What do you do over 1?
2. If you double, as I did, the auction will continue as above -- Agree with the second double?
3. What do you do over 3?
Yay for the "Ignored Users" feature!

#2 User is online   helene_t 

• The Abbess
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip

Posted 2011-July-08, 17:37

Two first doubles are fine although I like a style in which this hand is not too strong for a 1NT overcall.

You really have to pass now imho. This is not a lebensohl situation.
The world would be such a happy place, if only everyone played Acol :) --- TramTicket

#3 User is offline   Hanoi5 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Interests:Bridge, Video Games, Languages, Travelling.

Posted 2011-July-08, 17:52

I'm no expert but I think both doubles are OK. The problem here is probably whether to believe in the opponents or not. Is 4 going down? Hopefully not so I guess I'd try 3.

wyman, on 2012-May-04, 09:48, said:

Also, he rates to not have a heart void when he leads the 3.

rbforster, on 2012-May-20, 21:04, said:

Besides playing for fun, most people also like to play bridge to win

My YouTube Channel

#4 User is offline   Furlan 

• PipPipPip
  • Group: Full Members

Posted 2011-July-08, 17:56

Yes, yes, pass. Done enough.
Partner, I don't play tempo signals...
43 44 43 24

#5 User is offline   Cascade 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Yellows
  • Interests:Juggling, Unicycling

Posted 2011-July-08, 20:17

I start with 1NT.
Wayne Burrows

I believe that the USA currently hold only the World Championship For People Who Still Bid Like Your Auntie Gladys - dburn
dunno how to play 4 card majors - JLOGIC
True but I know Standard American and what better reason could I have for playing Precision? - Hideous Hog