BBO Discussion Forums: Absolute beginner - BBO Discussion Forums

Page 1 of 1

Absolute beginner Tables with only beginners ?

#1 User is offline   toniluna 

• Pip
  • Group: Members

Posted 2012-June-09, 12:55

Hi,

I am an absolute beginner, just finished the lessons. Can I play on BBO with other people on my level and where we can evetually discuss about the played hand ?

Thanks !

Ilse

#2 User is offline   jillybean 

• hooked
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Interests:Multi

Posted 2012-June-09, 16:39

Join the BIL (Beginner Intermediate Lounge) under private clubs, and good luck :)
"And no matter what methods you play, it is essential, for anyone aspiring to learn to be a good player, to learn the importance of bidding shape properly." MikeH
(still learning)

#3 User is offline   1eyedjack 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip

Posted 2012-June-09, 19:46

Welcome. You will be addicted in no time.

Cultivate and nurture a coterie of like minded players with and against whom you enjoy playing. It will not balloon overnight. Patience.

Don't take to heart hurtful comments from random individuals whom you have just met at the table for the first time. It will happen. Just flag them to avoid in future.

Cultivate also friendships with some better players who are willing to spend time with you at the table. There are a lot of them out there willing to help and put back something into the game. I mention this specifically because of one of your opening remarks: If you have a table that solely comprises absolute beginners like yourself, don't expect much accurate or meaningful conclusions to arise from post-hand discussions.

Just finished lessons? Gods I hope not. I am still learning after many (many) years
Psych (pron. saik): A gross and deliberate misstatement of honour strength and/or suit length. Expressly permitted under Law 73E but forbidden contrary to that law by Acol club tourneys.