BBO Discussion Forums: Has U.S. Democracy Been Trumped? - BBO Discussion Forums

• 1074 Pages +
  • « First
  • Last »
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Has U.S. Democracy Been Trumped? Bernie Sanders wants to know who owns America?

#21281 User is offline   hrothgar 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Interests:Travel
    Cooking
    Brewing
    Hiking

Posted 2023-December-20, 13:13

kenberg, on 2023-December-20, 11:00, said:

I am not a lawyer or anything close to a lawyer. However.
If I were convicted of insurrection I expect that the consequences would be more severe than telling me that I could not run for president. As they should be.

This specific case was not brought for the purpose of establishing criminal charges for the act of insurrection.

It is limited to determining whether or not Trump is eligible to be on the primary ballot in Colorado.
Alderaan delenda est

#21282 User is offline   kenberg 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip

Posted 2023-December-20, 15:08

hrothgar, on 2023-December-20, 13:13, said:

This specific case was not brought for the purpose of establishing criminal charges for the act of insurrection.

It is limited to determining whether or not Trump is eligible to be on the primary ballot in Colorado.

Probably we agree that others besides me think that if a person is guilty of insurrection then the penalty should be something more than being denied a place on the presidential primary ballot in Colorado.

Things have become weird. Very weird. Maybe I will just leave it at that. We can probably all agree that things have become very weird. Agreement on anything is difficult these days, but we can agree things are weird.
Ken

#21283 User is offline   Winstonm 

• Interests:Art, music

Posted 2023-December-20, 15:14

shyams, on 2023-December-20, 11:44, said: