BBO Discussion Forums: Not another Zebra - BBO Discussion Forums

• 2 Pages +
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Not another Zebra

#21 User is offline   mw64ahw 

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Full Members
  • Interests:Bidding & play optimisation via simulation.

Posted 2021-June-25, 09:02

I assume that 2 doesn't show 6 as 4 wasn't reached. I do think that an approach is needed that shows 6+. When I started playing I learnt that this was what a rebid of a Major meant. Having Hx should then make a final contract more obvious.

On the above hand I play
1-2 (or 2 see recent bbo link https://www.bridgeba...1s-2h-as-gf-5d/)
2 (Min denies 4)-2 (define further)
2NT (6+ unbalanced)-4/3 (further ask)/4 (SI showing control with a honour)

The 2NT bid denies 3+, 4 has already been denied so partner is in a position to place the contract, look for a fit or try for the marginal slam.

#22 User is offline   Winstonm 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Interests:Art, music

Posted 2021-June-25, 12:09

View Postjillybean, on 2021-June-24, 22:21, said:

Ok, I don;t play 2nt that way. For me, 2nt would be an offer to play in NT.

Neither did I

It sounds like you play Lawrence’s version of 2/1 where major rebid does not show 6 and 2nt shows at least partial stops in the unbids. I played that style also. I decided 3 clubs should not show extra strength for just this reason - you will have to bid spades 3 times to find a 6-2 fit so your only chance to bid clubs is after 2d.
"Injustice anywhere is a threat to justice everywhere." Black Lives Matter. / "I need ammunition, not a ride." Zelensky

#23 User is offline   jillybean 

• hooked
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Interests:Multi

Posted 2021-June-25, 12:54

View PostWinstonm, on 2021-June-25, 12:09, said: