BBO Discussion Forums: Can anyone explain the benefits of.... - BBO Discussion Forums

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Can anyone explain the benefits of.... ... careless use of showing voids in Blackwood

#1 User is offline   thepossum 

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members

Posted 2021-November-19, 01:30

Dear all

I'm no expert but when you have 0 or 1 keycards showing a void is not very useful

In fact showing a void is of more use to the defence

Does anyone do it other than GiB

I could post an example of a marginal slam that needed a lead through the void

Sitting there a bit short with AKQxx of something. Maybe even AKQJx or AKQTx

Yours
Perpetually Perplexed

#2 User is offline   DavidKok 

• PipPipPipPipPipPip

Posted 2021-November-19, 03:19

Sometimes slams fail. I don't see why showing voids is especially bad when holding 0 or 1 key cards, compared to when holding 2 or more.
In general:
  • Some good partnerships use methods to show voids before getting to the level of asking keycards (outside competition, at least). This partially eliminates the problem.
  • As always, if you add a widget to your agreements (in this case, void-showing responses to Blackwood), you need to be prepared for the consequences. Keep in mind that you should only bid 4NT if you are prepared for partner's answer. This widget adds sharper constraints to that, especially since you will be forced to the 6-level (or 5NT) if partner does show a useful void.
  • In general optimising your Blackwood responses is, in my opinion, time better spent somewhere else. I play a complicated version of RKC Blackwood and it has served me well (based on a 17-part! series available on d17acbl.org, but it seems to have been taken down. It is still available on the web archive, and I also had the foresight to save a copy), but it is not at all a core part of the bidding system.

#3 User is offline   P_Marlowe