• You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Call Based on Misinformation

#1 User is offline   alokjoshi 

• Pip
  • Group: Members

Posted 2021-March-01, 08:44

Dear Forum members

Please excuse me if this is not the right forum for my post and guide me elsewhere. I am studying to be a Director but the Laws are not clear and there are no detailed explanations to accompany them.

My question relates to Law 21: Call based on misinformation

Say N starts bidding with 2H, E requests for explanation from S and is told that it is a weak bid.
The auction proceeds with Passes by E S and W. According to Law 20F5b, the declarer or dummy are required to wait till the clarification period to point out the mistaken information.
So in the clarification period, N(declarer) calls the director
and informs the director and other players that wrong information was given and that the 2H bid is a strong
Heart bid. At this stage, does the Director have the option to cancel the bids by E, S and W and start bidding
again with E? Or, is this situation 'too late to change'?

Thanks in advance.

#2 User is offline   pran 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members

Posted 2021-March-01, 09:46

View Postalokjoshi, on 2021-March-01, 08:44, said:

Dear Forum members

Please excuse me if this is not the right forum for my post and guide me elsewhere. I am studying to be a Director but the Laws are not clear and there are no detailed explanations to accompany them.

My question relates to Law 21: Call based on misinformation

Say N starts bidding with 2H, E requests for explanation from S and is told that it is a weak bid.
The auction proceeds with Passes by E S and W. According to Law 20F5b, the declarer or dummy are required to wait till the clarification period to point out the mistaken information.
So in the clarification period, N(declarer) calls the director